Gallantry Awards (Peace)

The Indian Peacetime Gallantry Awards were constituted on similar lines of the British Awards of the George Cross. These awards comprised the Ashoka Chakra, The Kirti Chakra and the Shaurya Chakra. All the three awards are given for showing conspicuous gallantry or bravery but away from the Battlefield. In effect, these awards were given for counter insurgency operations, and other situations where the awardee is not necessarily in the Field of the Battle.

Initially the three awards were known as the Ashoka Chakra Class 1, Ashoka Chakra Class II and Ashoka Chakra Class III. After 1967 they were renamed as the current Ashoka, Kirti and Shaurya Chakras.